Skip to main content

No House members from Wisconsin, Minnesota vote for independent commission to investigate Jan. 6 Capitol attack


Bipartisan legislation to create an independent commission to investigate the Jan. 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol passed a House vote Wednesday.

All 217 Democrats backed the measure, along with 35 Republicans, including Iowa’s Mariannette Miller-Meeks. No Republican reps from Wisconsin or Minnesota voted in favor.

There were 175 Republicans to vote against the independent commission, including Minnesota’s Jim Hagedorn, who represents Southeast Minnesota, along with Wisconsin’s Scott Fitzgerald, Tom Tiffany, Mike Gallagher, Glenn Grothman and Bryan Steil.

Four rioters died in the Capitol attack, including a woman who was shot and killed by police as she tried to break into the House chamber. A Capitol Police officer collapsed and died after engaging with the protesters, and two officers took their own lives in the days after.

While the legislation passed a House vote, in the Senate, Minority Leader Mitch McConnell claimed the bill was partisan, despite the fact that membership of the proposed commission would be evenly split between the parties.

To get through the Senate, Democrats would need at least 10 Republicans to vote with them.

Regardless, Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer vowed to force a vote on the bill.

Here’s how Republicans voted:

For commission: 35 Republicans

Rep. Don Bacon (Neb.)

Rep. Cliff Bentz (Ore.)

Rep. Stephanie I. Bice (Okla.)

Rep. Liz Cheney* (Wyo.)

Rep. John Curtis (Utah)

Rep. Rodney Davis (Ill.)

Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.)

Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (Neb.)

Rep. Andrew R. Garbarino (N.Y.)

Rep. Carlos A. Gimenez (Fla.)

Rep. Tony Gonzales (Tex.)

Rep. Anthony Gonzalez* (Ohio)

Rep. Michael Guest (Miss.)

Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler* (Wash.)

Rep. French Hill (Ark.)

Rep. Trey Hollingsworth (Ind.)

Rep. Chris Jacobs (N.Y.)

Rep. Dusty Johnson (S.D.)

Rep. David Joyce (Ohio)

Rep. John Katko* (N.Y.)

Rep. Adam Kinzinger* (Ill.)

Rep. David B. McKinley (W.Va.)

Rep. Peter Meijer* (Mich.)

Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (Iowa)

Rep. Blake D. Moore (Utah)

Rep. Dan Newhouse* (Wash.)

Rep. Tom Reed (N.Y.)

Rep. Tom Rice* (S.C.)

Rep. Maria Elvira Salazar (Fla.)

Rep. Mike Simpson (Idaho)

Rep. Christopher H. Smith (N.J.)

Rep. Van Taylor (Tex.)

Rep. Fred Upton* (Mich.)

Rep. David G. Valadao* (Calif.)

Rep. Steve Womack (Ark.)

*Supported impeachment

Against commission: 175 Republicans

Rep. Robert B. Aderholt (Ala.)

Rep. Rick Allen (Ga.)

Rep. Mark Amodei (Nev.)

Rep. Kelly Armstrong (N.D.)

Rep. Jodey Arrington (Tex.)

Rep. Brian Babin (Tex.)

Rep. Jim Baird (Ind.)

Rep. Troy Balderson (Ohio)

Rep. Jim Banks (Ind.)

Rep. Garland “Andy” Barr (Ky.)

Rep. Jack Bergman (Mich.)

Rep. Andy Biggs (Ariz.)

Rep. Gus M. Bilirakis (Fla.)

Rep. Dan Bishop (N.C.)

Rep. Lauren Boebert (Colo.)

Rep. Mike Bost (Ill.)

Rep. Kevin Brady (Tex.)

Rep. Mo Brooks (Ala.)

Rep. Vern Buchanan (Fla.)

Rep. Ken Buck (Colo.)

Rep. Larry Bucshon (Ind.)

Rep. Ted Budd (N.C.)

Rep. Tim Burchett (Tenn.)

Rep. Michael C. Burgess (Tex.)

Rep. Ken Calvert (Calif.)

Rep. Kat Cammack (Fla.)

Rep. Jerry L. Carl (Ala.)

Rep. Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (Ga.)

Rep. John Carter (Tex.)

Rep. Madison Cawthorn (N.C.)

Rep. Steve Chabot (Ohio)

Rep. Ben Cline (Va.)

Rep. Michael Cloud (Tex.)

Rep. Andrew S. Clyde (Ga.)

Rep. Tom Cole (Okla.)

Rep. James Comer (Ky.)

Rep. Eric A. “Rick” Crawford (Ark.)

Rep. Dan Crenshaw (Tex.)

Rep. Warren Davidson (Ohio)

Rep. Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.)

Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (Fla.)

Rep. Byron Donalds (Fla.)

Rep. Jeff Duncan (S.C.)

Rep. Neal Dunn (Fla.)

Rep. Tom Emmer (Minn.)

Rep. Ron Estes (Kan.)

Rep. Pat Fallon (Tex.)

Rep. Randy Feenstra (Iowa)

Rep. Drew Ferguson (Ga.)

Rep. Michelle Fischbach (Minn.)

Rep. Scott Fitzgerald (Wis.)

Rep. Charles J. “Chuck” Fleischmann (Tenn.)

Rep. Virginia Foxx (N.C.)

Rep. C. Scott Franklin (Fla.)

Rep. Russ Fulcher (Idaho)

Rep. Matt Gaetz (Fla.)

Rep. Mike Gallagher (Wis.)

Rep. Mike Garcia (Calif.)

Rep. Bob Gibbs (Ohio)

Rep. Louie Gohmert (Tex.)

Rep. Bob Good (Va.)

Rep. Lance Gooden (Tex.)

Rep. Paul A. Gosar (Ariz.)

Rep. Kay Granger (Tex.)

Rep. Garret Graves (La.)

Rep. Sam Graves (Mo.)

Rep. Mark Green (Tenn.)

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.)

Rep. H. Morgan Griffith (Va.)

Rep. Glenn Grothman (Wis.)

Rep. Brett Guthrie (Ky.)

Rep. Jim Hagedorn (Minn.)

Rep. Andy Harris (Md.)

Rep. Diana Harshbarger (Tenn.)

Rep. Vicky Hartzler (Mo.)

Rep. Kevin Hern (Okla.)

Rep. Yvette Herrell (N.M.)

Rep. Jody Hice (Ga.)

Rep. Clay Higgins (La.)

Rep. Ashley Hinson (Iowa)

Rep. Richard Hudson (N.C.)

Rep. Bill Huizenga (Mich.)

Rep. Darrell Issa (Calif.)

Rep. Ronny Jackson (Tex.)

Rep. Bill Johnson (Ohio)

Rep. Mike Johnson (La.)

Rep. Jim Jordan (Ohio)

Rep. John Joyce (Pa.)

Rep. Frederick B. Keller (Pa.)

Rep. Mike Kelly (Pa.)

Rep. Trent Kelly (Miss.)

Rep. Young Kim (Calif.)

Rep. David Kustoff (Tenn.)

Rep. Darin LaHood (Ill.)

Rep. Doug LaMalfa (Calif.)

Rep. Doug Lamborn (Colo.)

Rep. Robert E. Latta (Ohio)

Rep. Jake LaTurner (Kan.)

Rep. Debbie Lesko (Ariz.)

Rep. Julia Letlow (La.)

Rep. Billy Long (Mo.)

Rep. Barry Loudermilk (Ga.)

Rep. Frank D. Lucas (Okla.)

Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (Mo.)

Rep. Nancy Mace (S.C.)

Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (N.Y.)

Rep. Tracey Mann (Kan.)

Rep. Thomas Massie (Ky.)

Rep. Brian Mast (Fla.)

Rep. Kevin McCarthy (Calif.)

Rep. Michael McCaul (Tex.)

Rep. Lisa C. McClain (Mich.)

Rep. Tom McClintock (Calif.)

Rep. Patrick T. McHenry (N.C.)

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Wash.)

Rep. Dan Meuser (Pa.)

Rep. Carol Miller (W.Va.)

Rep. Mary E. Miller (Ill.)

Rep. John Moolenaar (Mich.)

Rep. Alex Mooney (W.Va.)

Rep. Barry Moore (Ala.)

Rep. Markwayne Mullin (Okla.)

Rep. Greg Murphy (N.C.)

Rep. Troy E. Nehls (Tex.)

Rep. Ralph Norman (S.C.)

Rep. Devin Nunes (Calif.)

Rep. Jay Obernolte (Calif.)

Rep. Burgess Owens (Utah)

Rep. Steven M. Palazzo (Miss.)

Rep. Gary Palmer (Ala.)

Rep. Greg Pence (Ind.)

Rep. Scott Perry (Pa.)

Rep. August Pfluger (Tex.)

Rep. Bill Posey (Fla.)

Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (Pa.)

Rep. Mike D. Rogers (Ala.)

Rep. Harold Rogers (Ky.)

Rep. John Rose (Tenn.)

Rep. Matthew M. Rosendale (Mont.)

Rep. David Rouzer (N.C.)

Rep. Chip Roy (Tex.)

Rep. John Rutherford (Fla.)

Rep. Steve Scalise (La.)

Rep. David Schweikert (Ariz.)

Rep. Austin Scott (Ga.)

Rep. Pete Sessions (Tex.)

Rep. Adrian Smith (Neb.)

Rep. Jason T. Smith (Mo.)

Rep. Lloyd Smucker (Pa.)

Rep. Victoria Spartz (Ind.)

Rep. Pete Stauber (Minn.)

Rep. Michelle Steel (Calif.)

Rep. Elise Stefanik (N.Y.)

Rep. Bryan Steil (Wis.)

Rep. Greg Steube (Fla.)

Rep. Chris Stewart (Utah)

Rep. Claudia Tenney (N.Y.)

Rep. Glenn Thompson (Pa.)

Rep. Tom Tiffany (Wis.)

Rep. William Timmons (S.C.)

Rep. Michael R. Turner (Ohio)

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (N.J.)

Rep. Beth Van Duyne (Tex.)

Rep. Ann Wagner (Mo.)

Rep. Tim Walberg (Mich.)

Rep. Jackie Walorski (Ind.)

Rep. Michael Waltz (Fla.)

Rep. Randy Weber (Tex.)

Rep. Brad Wenstrup (Ohio)

Rep. Bruce Westerman (Ark.)

Rep. Roger Williams (Tex.)

Rep. Joe Wilson (S.C.)

Rep. Rob Wittman (Va.)

Rep. Don Young (Alaska)

Rep. Lee Zeldin (N.Y.)

Rep. Daniel Webster (Fla.) did not vote.