Skip to main content

How W.Va. congressional delegation voted in presidential electoral count


West Virginia’s congressional delegation was split in certifying the electoral votes that finalized President-elect Joe Biden’s win.

The proceeding ended about 3:40 a.m. Thursday following Wednesday’s attack on the nation’s Capitol by pro-Trump supporters.

Among West Virginia’s Republican delegation in the House, two voted to overturn election results in several battleground states.

Rep. Alex Mooney, R-2nd District, objected to Pennsylvania and Nevada’s results but accepted the electors from Arizona.

Congressman Alex Mooney Statement by Anna Moore on Scribd

Rep. Carol Miller, R-3rd District, voted to reject the electoral votes of Arizona and Pennsylvania, citing reasons given earlier in an op-ed piece.

However, Rep. David McKinley, R-1st District, voted to certify the election results in all states.

In a news release, McKinley said any problems with the election in these states should have been addressed prior to certification.

“Having read Article II and the 10th and 12th Amendments to the Constitution, as well as Federalist Paper Number 68, it is clear Congress has no role to object to the states’ election results once they are certified. Therefore, I am compelled to vote against the proposed objections,” McKinley said.

McKinley Statement on Electoral College Certification by Anna Moore on Scribd

Both Sens. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., and Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., earlier said they would support certifying President-elect Joe Biden’s victory.